Feline Fine

I caught a bit of Joanna Lumley’s ‘Catwoman’ programme last night, in which she analyses modern man’s relationship with felines. Being a cat fanatic I quite possibly shrieked with delight (or at least said, ‘Oooh!’ and did a little dance with the tooth brush), as I have been wanting to watch it and haven’t had time. For your benefit reader, my two prerequisites to marriage are: housework is shared 50:50 or else man pays for a cleaner to do his share, and I must be allowed at least one furry friend of the cat variety. Oh yes, I hear them scrambling to queue up for an engagement ring at Liberty’s as we speak……

What I saw on the programme was particularly moving and reinforced what my family have long said about cats (and many official surveys too), which is that having a cat can significantly reduce feelings of stress and for some people, even loneliness. A cat is a calming companion.

Lumley visited a children’s hospital for severely mentally handicapped kids who rarely have a chance to experience the joy of owning a pet. But these children have been given a rare opportunity to enjoy what are named ‘Pat Cats’; cats which, like guide dogs, have been specifically chosen for their consistent ability to aid humans. In this case, the docile and amenable Pat Cat provides their stroker with instant affection for therapuetic gain.  You could see the children’s faces light up instantly as the happy cat nestled into their jumpers and purred contentedly. What a brilliant idea. There are now 100 Pat Cats at work across the UK.  Like guide dogs, the cats wear customized neon yellow jackets so that people know they haven’t just escaped from Battersea Dog’s Home.  Aaaaaaaahhhh.

Whilst on the subject of cats, I thought it was very amusing when my father said matter-of-factly at lunch the other day that his three cats, Monty (better known as Meow-Meow for his maximum decibal meow), Freddie and Holly are such happy little troopers because of the quality of food they eat: ‘Organic fish and chicken, the usual’, he says (I think he’s joking). ‘We’re Michelin starred.’ Funny, true and mildly tragic; those cats are better fed than me. Now where’s my cat suit…….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment